Windows 8 Compatibility Mode

Posted: September 17, 2011 by Xavier Morgan in Windows 8
Tags: , ,

I have been having a great experience on my Asus EP121 and the developer preview of Windows 8.  Struggled with the Bluetooth driver, but I figured out that I had to set thing to compatibility mode.  Here are the rough steps and this should get you through the woods if you are experiencing some of the same issues:

First, get into your file explorer on the program that you are going to run.  Click on Application, Troubleshoot Compatibility.

troubleshoot compat

Next, click on Troubleshoot program.

troubleshoot step

Click on Program worked in earlier versions of Windows.

step 2

Click on Windows 7

step3

Click on Start the Program, but do not hit NEXT until the install completes.

step4

Once the installation completes, click on next.  Now, this worked for the BLUETOOTH keyboard drivers from the ASUS web site, but I could not get the Warpia USB drivers to work in a similar manner.  I hope this helps someone out there, because I struggled with it until I read a post from a fellow Microsoft employee earlier today.

Good luck and have fun!

Comments
  1. Leo says:

    oh baby. Now that I’ve installed the Windows 8 consumer preview ALL of my legacy programs that wouldn’t work in WIN 7 or the 8 beta are working great! This looks like a giant step forward for Windows. I have a few more programs to test, but at this point I am very impressed with the built-in compatibility.

  2. Stijn says:

    .. it doesnt work 4 me :@ .. my Ati mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series, and wifi direct virtual adapter doesnt work. Help?

  3. knightbeat40 says:

    Had issue with trying to get my LEXMARK AIO S405 to work with Windows 8 Pro 64 bit. Following the instruction given, this worked for me.

  4. [...] this legacy device. D-Link DWA-547 RangeBooster N 650 Desktop Adapter Driver | Laptop Software Windows 8 Compatibility Mode | The Digital Dilemma   My System Specs You need to have JavaScript enabled so that you can use this [...]

  5. [...] this to work? You may have some luck using one of the various compatiblity mode's in Windows. Windows 8 Compatibility Mode | The Digital Dilemma   My System Specs You need to have JavaScript enabled so that you can use this [...]

  6. One problem I have is that the option to run programs in compatibility mode for Windows 2000 has been removed from Windows 8. Is there any way to get this setting back?

Leave a Reply

